Find a Uni

Which 24 Malaysian Universities are Getting the 100Gbps Internet Connection?

Published by Afterschool.my on Oct 06, 2017, 09:33 am

The recent announcement of blazing internet speeds of up to 100gbs being made possible at Malaysian universities has got students weak at the knees. With the Malaysian Research & Education Network (MYREN-X) project in full swing, we thought it would be intriguing to explore just which universities are getting the MYREN-X treatment, and what treatment will exactly entail.

Image of Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), one of the 4 private universities who are members of MYREN-X

What does MYREN-X promise? According to their website, it’s there 3 goals that they have firmly in mind with the project:

  • Provides bandwidth speeds of up to 100 Gbps as connection to international gateways through Asi@Connect for research universities analogous to other countries.
  • Provides bandwidth speeds of up to 100 Gbps as interconnections between local research universities so that the connection can become facilitators and catalysts of further collaboration in research and educational activities

So which universities are the lucky ones who’ll be receiving this buffer-busting internet connection? A total of 20 (all) Public Universities (IPTAs) along with 4 Private Universities (IPTS) will be receiving this monumental shift in spee and the full list can be found below:

Public Universities (IPTA)

Private Universities

MYREN-X will also be rolled out in 31 polytechnics, 85 community colleges, seven departments and agencies, and three teaching hospitals.


  •  Politeknik Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah
  • Politeknik Sultan Idris Shah
  • Politeknik Banting
  • Politeknik Metro Kuala Lumpur
  • Politeknik Metro Johor Bahru
  • Politeknik Mersing
  • Politeknik Ibrahim Sultan
  • Politeknik Merlimau
  • Politeknik Nilai
  • Politeknik Port Dickson
  • Politeknik Tuanku Sultanah Bahiyah
  • Politeknik Sultan Abdul Halim Mu'adzam Shah
  • Politeknik Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin
  • Politeknik Seberang Perai
  • Politeknik Balik Pulau
  • Politeknik Metro Tasek Gelugor
  • Politeknik Ungku Omar
  • Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah
  • Politeknik Kuching Sarawak
  • Politeknik Mukah Sarawak
  • Politeknik Metro Tawau
  • Politeknik Kota Kinabalu
  • Politeknik Kota Bharu
  • Politeknik Jeli
  • Politeknik Kuala Terengganu
  • Politeknik Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin
  • Politeknik Tun Syed Nasir Syed Ismail
  • Politeknik Muadzam Shah
  • Politeknik Metro Kuantan

Community Colleges

For a full list of Community Colleges, click here.

So, what are you lot looking forward to utilising the download speeds for the most? With more universities soon to be added to the list. Want your university to have a 100Gbps internet speed as well? Convince your faculty and apply for MYREN-X membership by clicking here.                 

Latest News

Need help?