Student Life

How Students & Lecturers from All 20 Public Universities Can Get Special Rates from Air Asia

Published by Afterschool.my on Oct 12, 2017, 11:11 am

Are you studying at one of the nation’s 20 public universities? Perhaps you’re teaching? Either way, you’ll be eligible for Air Asia’s Waran Perjalanan Udara Awam (WPUA), which applies to ALL university staff and students. How does one apply? What are these special rates? Scroll on down as we answer all of your burning questions!

What is Included in Air Asia’s WPUA?

WPUA is a packaged deal. It includes all this at one fixed price:

  • Premium Seats (No more fighting for that elusive arm rest!)
  • 40kgs of baggage (Pack EVERYTHING!)
  • 20kgs of sports equipment
  • Inflight meal (Now you’ll be the envy of the rest of the passengers as a steward hands you a steaming, aromatic container of Rendang!)
  • BIG Points
  • Travel insurance

How Much is a ticket purchased using Air Asia’s WPUA?

WPUA has a fixed price; therefore, the price may differ from the prices available on www.airasia.com.

Who can Apply for Air Asia’s WPUA?


WPUA (Waran Perjalanan Udara Awam) is now available to all university staff and students, for official use only.

How do I apply for WPUA?

To apply for WPUA, you are advised to consult with your university or authorised travel agents.

How Do I book with WPUA?

You may book through your university’s PTJ (Pusat Tanggungjwab).

Which Universities are Included?

We mentioned all 20 Public Universities (IPTAs/UAs), but if you still have doubts, here is the list in full:

  • Universiti Malaya (UM)
  • Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
  • Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)
  • Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)
  • Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)
  • Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
  • Universiti Islam Antarabangasa Malaysia (UIAM)
  • Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)
  • Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS)
  • Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris (UPSI)
  • Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)
  • Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)
  • Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM)
  • Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP)
  • Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP)
  • Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA)
  • Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK), and
  • Universiti Pertahanan Nasional Malaysia (UPNM)?

For more information regarding Air Asia's WPUA, you may click here

Latest News

Need help?