Why You Should Ensure Aviation Institutions Have the CAAM Authorisation Before You Apply

Published by Afterschool.my on Dec 05, 2019, 10:27 am

When you’re put on the spot to think of jobs related to aviation, the first thing that pops to your mind would probably be pilots or flight attendants. Aviation is considered a niche industry or profession, so on the surface it may seem difficult for graduates of this field to obtain jobs in the future. Despite this, aviation is a growing industry in Malaysia and more students are pursuing the field in their higher education. Yet, unemployment among graduates still remains a problem.

The unemployment issue could also be due to the institutions themselves not having the recognition or authorisation from the Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia (CAAM), formerly known as Department of Civil Aviation Malaysia (DCAM) Effectively on 19th February 2018, Department of Civil Aviation of Malaysia (DCAM), a government agency under the Ministry of Transport was incorporated into a statutory body known as Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia (‘CAAM’). Functions of the DCA are currently carried out by the CAAM as the sole civil aviation technical regulator in Malaysia with the primary function to regulate the safety and security of civil aviation. With the number of aviation institutions rising, not all have the CAAM authorisation. Employers would certainly feel more secure hiring potential employees who have graduated from recognised institutions.

Why Is the CAAM Authorisation Important for Aviation Institutions?CAAM Authorisation

As stated by former Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, CAAM's responsibilities include safeguarding civil aviation operations in the country, exercising safety regulatory oversight of the civil aviation and regulate the operation of aerodrome services and facilities in Malaysia.

Aviation institutions authorised by the CAAM are guaranteed to have high-quality teaching. As mentioned above, employers would be more confident in hiring graduates from institutions with such an authorisation.

What Are the Types of Aircraft Maintenance Licenses (AML)?

The types of Aircraft Maintenance Licenses (AML) are as follows:

  1. Category A (Aircraft Maintenance Technician)
    • A1 (Aeroplane Turbines)
    • A2 (Aeroplane Piston)
    • A3 (Helicopter Turbine)
    • A4 (Helicopter Piston)
  2. Category B1 (Aircraft Maintenance Engineer - Mechanical)
    • B1.1 (Aeroplane Turbines)
    • B1.2 (Aeroplane Piston)
    • B1.3 (Helicopter Turbine)
    • B1.4 (Helicopter Piston)
  3. Category B2 (Aircraft Maintenance Engineer - Avionics)
    • B2 (Avionics)

Where Should You Pursue Your Studies in Aircraft Maintenance?

Admal Aviation College prides itself on being a college with its own fleet of 14 aircrafts. On top of that, Admal Aviation College is the only Part-147 Approved Training Organization that is also a CAAM Part-145 Approved Maintenance Organization.

Apart from its organisational status, the college is setup to act in compliance with both the Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia (MoHE) and the CAAM requirements for its education and training approval.Their Diploma programme is recognized by the MoHE and accredited by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA).

At Admal, students would learn from experienced instructors, aircraft technicians, and Licensed Aircraft Engineers. The learning experience would also involve industry standard tools, workshop and real aircraft parts. On top of that, On Job Training placement for all their courses are provided by the college and graduates are assisted for employment at local airlines, MROs and other aviation-related industries.

If you are interested to know more about Admal Aviation College, click on the link below to get more information!

Find Out More

Latest News

Need help?