MQA's D-Setara Rating: Best Health Science Universities in Malaysia

Published by Afterschool.my on Mar 26, 2017, 04:27 pm

Which are the best health science Universities in Malaysia? The Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA) announced the results of the Discipline-Based Rating System (D-SETARA).dsetara_898xsomethingThe Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA), responsible for quality assurance of higher education for both public and private sectors, has released the results of its latest Discipline-based Rating System or D-SETARA.The new rating system is different from SETARA. The former categorises universities as a whole using a tier system based on the Malaysian Qualifications Framework whereas D-SETARA  assesses the quality of teaching and learning of a certain field of study only.

International Medical University

The International Medical University is a private international medical university located in Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur. The university began as International Medical College (IMC) in 1992 and it was the first private medical institution in Malaysia. As student population grew, IMU relocated its campus from Petaling Jaya to Bukit Jalil and increased programmes offered.

Management & Science University

When driving along the Elite Highway, one can surely not miss the Management & Science University campus. Located in the heart of Shah Alam, Selangor, MSU has aspirations to be the leading university for specialised and professional education to meet the needs of the industry.MSU partners its programmes with many international universities from across the world such as the Tokyo University of Technology, the University of Newcastle, and many more.

International Islamic University Malaysia

Image credit: Naim Fadil - Flickr

IIUM has a 700 acre campus at Gombak, Selangor. The original campus in Petaling Jaya has been converted to a matriculation centre known as Centre For Foundation Studies (CFS) for Science and Law students. Besides the Gombak campus, IIUM has four other campuses at Negeri Sembilan, Kuala Lumpur, Kuantan and Johor.

University of Malaya (UM)

UM offers specialisations that may not be available in other universities in Malaysia, especially in the medical and education fields. The university has always upheld the highest standards in education, as witnessed by verification from the Malaysian Qualifications Agency for all of its courses on offer.

New fundamentals in research that have been put into place has strengthened UM’s position in local and foreign publications and citations, raising the quality steadily each year since 2010.

Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)

Chosen as the APEX university by the Ministry of Higher Education as the university with the most potential for excellence in innovation and research, USM continues to live up to its promise by delivering on groundbreaking research, sustainable facilities and long-term innovative plans.

Their dedication to quality has earned them Malaysian Qualifications Agency verification status for their programmes, while their research has brought them into partnership with leading industry players.

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR)

With several campuses across the country and nearly 20,000 students, UTAR embraces the concept of evolving and innovating to face new challenges and fulfil market demands. Built based on holistic principles, UTAR emerged from its beginnings as a college and morphed into one of the better known private universities in Malaysia.

University Teknologi Malaysia (UTM)

The university consists of 2 campuses, the main campus located at Skudai, Johor and a branch campus situated at Jalan Semarak, Kuala Lumpur. Being the nation’s top producer of engineering and technological graduates, UTM continues to aim forward to be recognised as a world-class centre of academic and technological excellence.

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM)

University Putra Malaysia is a public research university located at Serdang, close to the capital city of Kuala Lumpur. Formerly known as Universiti Pertanian Malaysia, UPM started off as a university specialising in the agriculture sector. Besides the main campus at Serdang, UPM has a branch campus located at Bintulu, Sarawak.

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)

Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) or The National University of Malaysia (NUM) is located at Bangi, Selangor, about 35km south of Kuala Lumpur. UKM has a teaching hospital, the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre (UKMMC) located in Cheras and a branch campus in Kuala Lumpur.

UCSI University

UCSI originated as the Canada Institute of Computer Studies, a computer-based training centre in SS2, Petaling Jaya. In 1989, it changed its name to Sedaya College when it was given College status, and subsequently, Sedaya International College to reflect its growing international focus. It was upgraded to University College in 2003 and University in 2008, and thus changed its name to UCSI University.

Twintech International University College of Technology

Image credit: Google street view

The International University College of Technology Twintech (IUCTT) is a private university college located at Bandar Sri Damansara, Kuala Lumpur. The university college was founded in 1993 and known as the Twintech Institute of Technology. The Ministry of Higher Education granted the institution a university college status which brought the name International University College of Technology Twintech.

Open University Malaysia

OUM offers academic programmes that cater to industry demands. It now offers about 70 programmes for working adults who want to upgrade their skills and knowledge for career progression or transition, or who simply wish to fulfil an ambition of lifelong learning.

All of OUM’s academic programmes are part-time and remote. The university provides students with comprehensive online resources and regular meetings with supervisors.

University Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak was officially established in 1992, with its two pioneering faculties of that time, the Faculty of Social Science and the Faculty of Resource Science and Technology.

The university grew in the following years, with four more faculties opening and a growing number of staff and students. Currenlty, the university has 14 institutes and support centres that ensures well facilitated studies and research for the students and staff.

Ask a question
Latest News

Need help?